My Blog

MAY

5/11/21

I'd like to talk about my creative process. Actually, I'd like to write about some other things first and then I'd like to talk about my creative process.

What am I doing right now? My most recent thing has been Nichijou Reanimated. I think I did five scenes in total as of writing this. When I entered into the project, I had never seen an episode of Nichijou. As of writing this, I've watched the first episode a handful of time and the second episode once.

Then, I'm also slowly working on that comic. I was really into it at the start and now it's at a stand still. I'm making a mental note to myself to set arbitrary deadlines for different sections of it. Thinking about the comic is what got me thinking about my creative process.

Shrekfest 2021 is online. I'm keeping my eyes peeled for updates. I've developed a taste for collaborative projects. There are, as of writing this, two 3GI videos about what it's like to make a Retold/Rebuilt/Reanimated project, which I found to be informative and interesting in many different ways. Watching the second one also got me thinking about my creative process.

And that is what I am now going to talk about.


I don't think I've ever gotten anywhere thinking "what idea do I wanna express?" or "what should my next project be?" Maybe I have. I don't remember. For the most part, I remember getting ideas by suddenly thinking "wouldn't it be cool/neat/interesting/sexy if XYZ happened?" and that's usually it. I want some action to happen. And then I begin to plan it out. And then as I'm making it, I get better ideas and the project evolves from the initial plan and the final result is a good bit different from the original idea.

For Rotten, I wanted a character to be on a date with a corpse. And then I built everything else around it. I believe it also morphed with a separate idea for a character to be in an imagined relationship with a potato sack, believing it to be a real person, and there's also more to the potato sack idea that I won't get into.

For don't get the rotten, I wanted to use the phrase "you got the rotten" in some way. Ideas enter my head and it's up to me to figure out how to implement them, and I think I do a decent job figuring it out. Guess that's all I got to say...

5/2/21

The important matter. The confusion and disorientation. All gone.

Now I wonder why I ever gave it a thought in the first place. How strange.


That comic I am working on. Well, now I'm working on it. I started yesterday. I first conceived the idea on the 17th of April. I had only two characters and some short notes about them. When it comes to comics, I find the easiest thing to do is to create the first panel and improvise from there. I have only a basic idea of what I want to do and I must figure out how to get from Point A to point C. If all goes well, this pointless comic may begin to have a point over time.

It will probably be released all at once when I feel that it is finished, probably here only.