My Blog

APRIL

4/26/22

Approximately a year ago I began working on a comic, titled Akra after the main protagonist, but I stopped working on it after about a month, finishing only three of around ten planned chapters, and I never returned to it. Coming back to it now, I don’t see myself ever continuing it.

As a result of my recent interest in Blender’s grease pencil, I’ve decided I might turn it into a short film. There are certain hurdles I would have to overcome while making the transition from comic to animated content. The biggest one on my mind is how to handle dialogue. Given all necessary resources, my ideal idea is having all characters except Akra given real voice actors, while Akra speaks in some manner of soundfont, à la Undertale or Animal Crossing. I wouldn't have any idea what kind of voice Akra has anyway. As for the other characters -- the ones I've already planned out anyway -- I don't necessarily have voices in mind for them yet either but it would be easier to get an idea of. More realistically, every character will likely speak with a soundfont voice. I'm not sure.

Before I work on a project of this magnitude, I want to get other animated projects out of the way so that I know how capable I am of 2D animation in the first place, now that I have the tools necessary to do so. Blender has been a lifesaver for me. I was never able to find a 2D animation tool that worked even remotely how I wanted it to. As much as I dislike the 3D side of Blender, its grease pencil is perfect. I've put Akra visuals on the accompanying tumblr post.